GFCFSF Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

20130413-212550.jpg

I have been craving carrot cake since the first warm day hit us at the end of March.  Finding a recipe that had a cream cheese frosting that we could eat was very challenging but after many Google searches – I finally found THE ONE!  LOL  As you can see from the picture above, we thoroughly enjoyed this cake.  It came out so moist and sweet.  The frosting was very good and easy to make.  The picture below is the professional picture from the magazine where I found the carrot cake recipe.  Looks good, doesn’t it?  Why not try it out yourself?  Let me know how yours turns out.  Enjoy!  😉  Please see below the cake recipe for the very easy allergy free cream cheese frosting recipe.

FROM LIVING WITHOUT APRIL/MAY 2009 EDITION
By Diane Kittle

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Carrot Cake

MAKES ONE 2-LAYER CAKE

Lighter and fluffier than most carrot cakes, this recipe delivers rich, spicy flavor.

5 large eggs, room temperature

½ cup vegetable oil (I used Safflower Oil)

2 cups sugar (I used Sugar in the Raw)

2 cups Gluten Free All Purpose Flour Blend (see below recipe)

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon xanthan gum

3 cups grated carrots (I peeled 6 carrots and threw them into my Vitamix)

1 cup raisins

1 cup chopped walnuts (I threw 1 1/2 c of walnuts into my Vitamix)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease two 8- or 9-inch round cake pans and lightly dust with gluten-free flour.

2. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat eggs, oil and sugar at medium-high speed for 3 minutes.

3. In a separate bowl, sift together flour blend, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and xanthan gum.

4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet batter and mix on medium-low speed just until blended, approximately 30 seconds. Fold in grated carrots, raisins and nuts (if desired) until combined.

5. Divide the batter between the two prepared pans. Bake in preheated oven for approximately 60 to 75 minutes, depending on oven and pan size. Begin checking for doneness at 60 minutes. Cake is done when an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let cake cool in the pans for 20 minutes; then turn it out of the pans and cool completely on a wire rack before frosting.

Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Blend

MAKES 2 CUPS

1 cup rice flour ½ cup tapioca starch/flour ½ cup cornstarch or potato starch

Thoroughly combine all ingredients. Store in a covered container in the refrigerator until used.

Recipe by Diane Kittle, owner of Dee’s One Smart Cookie, a gluten-free, dairy-free, allergy-friendly bakery in Glastonbury, Connecticut.

The Cream Cheese Frosting I found at another website and it was so easy, I almost cried! I searched and searched and while many recipes called for me to soak almonds and other deep and time-consuming methods; Megan and Kim at Welcoming Kitchen ‘welcomed’ me with open arms and a tasty recipe.  Please click on the link below to see what other great recipes they have to share. 

Dairy and Soy Free Cream Cheese Frosting

4TB Soy-Free Earth Balance Buttery Spread

1/2C Vanilla Flavored Coconut Milk Yogurt (I used So Delicious Brand; as suggested by Megan and Kim)

2 1/3C or more of powdered sugar

Mix together Earth Balance and yogurt in stand mixer until smooth.  Add powdered sugar until your frosting reaches the texture you enjoy.  (I’m not sure how much I used since I just kept adding until it was as thick as we like our frosting).  I frosting the cake immediately;  after letting the cake cool for 20 minutes.  This frosting dries FAST so make sure you are ready to frost as soon as you are done making it.  I ended up using a spatula in very hot water to smooth the frosting on our cake.  Regardless, this frosting complements the carrot cake perfectly.  Thank you so much Megan and Kim from Welcoming Kitchen; for such an easy and tasty recipe!

