GFDFSF Coconut Yellow Cake with Coconut Buttercream Frosting

Yesterday was my Mom’s (actually she’s my Mother in Law but we are very close) birthday and I wanted to make her favorite cake.  I had NO idea what that cake would be so I devised a scheme where my sister was able to get the information secretly from her husband.  I couldn’t find a recipe online that I liked so I decided to make the entire cake using my imagination.  Sorry, I forgot to take a photo but both of my Mom’s loved it and when I ate a piece I could see why. 

Coconut Cake but not the one I made 2-27-2013

Below are the two recipes I tweaked to make this absolutely yummy Gluten, Dairy and Soy Free Coconut Yellow Cake with Coconut Buttercream Frosting.  Try it out and see if yours comes out just as tasty.

 

Classic Yellow Cake

adapted from Easy Gluten Free Baking

{Italics is what I replaced the original recipe ingredients with}

INGREDIENTS:

Prepared Cake Pans (Spray with allergy free pan spray or use shortening with paper towel and flour with rice flour or sweet rice flour)

Toothpicks to make sure cake is done;  Little oven safe glass bowl filled with water to place on the bottom rack of your oven (this keeps your cake moist)

DRY                                                                                                                      WET

1C plus 2T sifted White Rice Flour                  1C Butter Flavored Shortening

1C Cornstarch                                                                         1C Granulated Sugar

2t GF Baking Powder                                                           4 Large Eggs

1t Xanthan Gum                                                                     1/2 C  Coconut Milk

1t Salt                                                                                         2t Vanilla Extract

This makes one 8 inch 2 layer cake, one 9×13″ cake or 2 dozen cupcakes

DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2) In a medium bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients.

3) In the bowl of your stand mixer, cream together shortening and sugar until light & fluffy; about 30 seconds.

4) Add eggs & beat for an additional 15 seconds.  Add dry ingredients and mix until completely combined.  Add milk and vanilla extract.  Blend until batter is thoroughly combined & fluffy.

5) Pour into prepared pans or cupcake holders.

6) BAKING TIMES = For 8″ round pans about 25-30 minutes;  for 9×13″ pan about 35-40 minutes; for cupcakes about 15-25 minutes

7) Pull out oven rack and poke each cake in the center with a toothpick.  As long as toothpick is clean when you remove it, your cake is done.

8) Remove pans from oven & place on wire racks to cool for 5 minutes.

9) Transfer cake(s) directly onto racks to cool completely.

GFCFSF Coconut Buttercream Frosting

adapted from Free For All Cooking

{Italics is what I replaced the original recipe ingredients with}

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 C Butter Flavored Shortening (I use Spectrum Organic Butter Flavored Shortening)

2  1/2C Confectionary Sugar

1  1/2t Coconut Extract

1T or more of Coconut Milk

1/4 C or more of sweetened or unsweetened coconut flakes (I used sweetened)

DIRECTIONS:

Blend shortening and extract until thoroughly mixed.

Add sugar while blending simultaneously.

As your frosting thickens, add milk until it is the consistency you want to frost your cake.

After you frost your cake, sprinkle your coconut flakes on top.

