Homemade Gluten, Dairy and Soy Free Strawberry Shortcake

Image

Strawberry Shortcake is the first cake I make every summer.  We look forward to this tradition happily in my family.  I make the Angel Food Cake from scratch and it comes out so airy that many times my son and husband enjoy eating the cake plain!  

The recipe I use is for a typical Angel Food Cake.  Instead of using vanilla and almond extract, I use organic flavorings depending on the fruit we will use to top our cake.  I also substitute the ‘regular’ flour with a mix I found on the internet called “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Gluten” cake flour.  This mix is simple to make at home and I keep a batch of it in my refrigerator daily.

I make our Cool Whip from Rich’s Rich Whip, which I purchase in the kosher section of our Shoprite Grocery Store.  I typically purchase 8-10 little cartons at a time; they usually cost between $2.19 – $3.00 a piece.  I freeze them until I am ready to make cool whip.  It’s very simple and all you do is add granulated sugar as you beat the whip into a light and fluffy wonder.  

As far as the fruit ~ I clean it and slice it into a bowl.  I then add granulated sugar and cover it with a lid.  Once I place the strawberries in the refrigerator; I continue making the Angel Food Cake.  Once the cake is done baking, it’s time to taste and enjoy summer.  

Go ahead and try it out.  The recipes for the Angel Food Cake and flour mix are below.  PLEASE let me know how you make out.  Believe me, your family and friends will never know that they are eating an allergy friendly cake.  I guarantee they will be back for more! 🙂  Enjoy!!

~ GFCF I Can’t Believe It’s Not Gluten Cake Flour Mix ~ 

3c finely ground brown rice flour;  1c potato starch;    1 1/4 tsp guar or xanthan gum.   Sift ingredients together, combining thoroughly.    Store in airtight container in cabinet or in refrigerator.


Wife2Dondi’s GFCF ANGEL FOOD CAKE

Makes 1 big cake or 12-15 small cakes using glass custard bowls 

Prep Time: 1 1/2 hrs. plus time to cool

Heat oven to 325 degrees and bake 45-60 minutes

until cake is firm, resilient and nicely browned.

Non Food Items Needed:

 12-15 Glass Custard bowls with lids for storage in refrigerator

 Stand mixer and rubber spatula

 Medium bowl and sifter


Ingredients to make Angel Food Cake:

¨         1 cup of GFCF cake flour, sifted

¨         1  1/2 cups of vanilla granulated sugar

¨         9 egg whites

¨         1/4 tsp. salt

¨         1 tsp. cream of tarter

¨         1 tsp. vanilla extract or other flavor (if not using vanilla flavoring, don’t use vanilla granulated sugar, just use regular granulated sugar).

Steps:

  1. Sift together the flour and 1/2 cup of the sugar

  2. Beat the egg whites, in stand mixer, on high, until foamy. 

  3. Add the salt and cream of tarter and continue to beat on high, until the egg whites hold soft peaks; the tops of the whites should droop a little bit when you remove the beaters. 

  4. Beat in the remaining sugar and vanilla extracts/flavorings and continue to beat on high until the peaks become a little stiffer.

  5. Gradually and gently fold in the flour mixture, using a rubber spatula.

  6. Turn the batter into an ungreased 9 or 10 inch tube pan, or foam cake pan or small custard cups. Don’t use any pan with ridged sides.

  7. Place the cake onto a rack and let cool for about 15 minutes.

  8. Cut carefully around the sides of cake and remove pan.

  9. Let cake cool for at least 30 minutes before flipping it over and removing bottom portion of pan.

  10. Cool completely before slicing with a serrated knife.

