Disaster or Success – Have You Ever Made Waffles From Scratch?


20120413-163135.jpg
Just wondering how many of you out there have tried to make waffles from scratch? I mean ALL SCRATCH!! Pre~made mixes not included! 😉 It can be pretty nerve-racking and annoying even without all the food allergies.  Is it too thin or too thick? Too many lumps or not enough?

I have been making waffles and pancakes for years and have FINALLY stumbled upon a recipe that tastes just like the waffles of my long gone days of no allergies~2~food living! The texture is so much like a ‘regular’ waffle that you can share  waffles with your family and friends and they will unknowingly LOVE them!!! Where or where did I find such a wonderfully tasty and ‘regular’ waffle recipe??? I’ll let you know in a bit….

20120413-163122.jpgThe author of this cookbook places the recipe under pancakes but one morning, the only flour I had available matched the flour needed in her recipe. Warily, I followed the recipe and poured my first batch of batter into the waffle maker. When I opened the waffle maker to check out the waffle…

WHAT TO MY WONDERING EYES SHOULD APPEAR??? NOT A MINIATURE SLEIGH & EIGHT TINY REINDEER BUT SOMETHING MUCH BETTER….A WAFFLE THAT LOOKED ‘NORMAL’!!

I was so shocked that my son grabbed the waffle before I could put it on his plate!  He liked it so much that by the time a waffle for me was done, he was already asking for more. 😉 He inhaled both waffles then sat back smiling…. I smiled back as I tentatively bit into my waffle. Before I knew it, I too was gobbling up my waffle. When I finally came up for air, my son was sitting there laughing at me. ‘It’s good Mom, right?’

I HAD FINALLY FOUND IT!!! Yes, Son; it not only is good but it is a permanent keeper in our family menu. Check it out yourself. I found the recipe in Jules E. Dowler Shepard’s book Free For All Cooking, page 60.

For those of you who have favorite recipes from other places, let me know what recipes you have had success with below. Perhaps you can gift me with another tasty and easy recipe for homemade allergy free waffles. I’ll be happily munching and waiting….. 🙂

20120413-163308.jpg

2 thoughts on “Disaster or Success – Have You Ever Made Waffles From Scratch?

  1. I make everything from scratch. It is the only way I know what is in my food. It also costs a lot of $$$$ to buy things already prepared.

Comments are closed.